Equalisation with a Difference

44 posts / 0 new
Last post
Graeme Harrison
Re: Equalisation with a Difference

I think mixing Prius and Vectrix results is confusing to many.
I'm no expert on Vectrix, but I am one of the primary contributors on keeping older Prius running (on Prius Mk1 user group). I also keep my 14yo NiMH battery going in an 1998 Prius, for fun... though at this age, I am about to do a LiPo conversion (to my own plans) on the Prius.

Laird said "Certainly in the case of the Vectrix charge process 'overcharge' is the norm and it occurs every 12 or so hours of use and the damage can be seen in the failed batteries and/or the bulging cells which are contained within most (probably all) Vectrix batteries."

But regarding the Panasonic HHR650D NiMH used in the Mk1 Prius (NHW10), the Panasonic patent on the matter makes it clear that the long cycle life is achieved through 'shallow cycling' of the cells, and indeed the Prius controller keeps State of Charge (SOC) between 20% and 80%. Also, the HHR650D cells will deliver 300A on shorting, yet the Prius in practice draws only 55A upon electric use, and never charges above 45A (regenerative braking). So the current is kept under 8C, so within specs. I've read on this site that Vectrix draw 250A at top speed, which seems way over-spec, so no wonder cells fail so quickly in comparison.

The Panasonic patent regarding the HHR650D and 'vehicle use' of NiMH makes it clear that some rejuvenation of the NiMH cells is achieved by holding at 45-degC for 3-4 days.. but in practice, in car equalisation is achieved by periodically uniformly charging above 80% SOC, but still to 'knee' and then keeping low current running for a while. This is so that already-charged cells can easily lose that extra energy as heat, while the not-quite-full cells get that little bit more (slowly) to all end up equally charged (provided they are not already defective).