XM-3000?

9 posts / 0 new
Last post
nebulousman
XM-3000?

I'm new to electric scooters and don't own one. I'd like to buy a scooter that I can ride within 10 mile radius of my home. The area is residential with occasional round abouts and plenty of car traffic. I'd like it to be capable of 25-30mph and carry a passenger sometimes. The xm-3000 sounds like a good choice. Advice would be appreciated.
other brands and/or models I should look at?
essential accessories or mods?
reasonable prices and/or dealers?

thanks

jdh2550_1
jdh2550_1's picture
Re: XM-3000?

Hi,

Yes, a lead acid based XM-3000 would likely be acceptable. If I remember right with a healthy pack it has about a 20 mile range (so your 10 mile radius would be on the limit - assuming 10 out and 10 back). I'm not sure about carrying a passenger - both vehicle capability and from local laws. Here in Michigan if you register it as a moped then you can't carry a passenger.

If you do go with an XM-3000 or any other lead acid based bike I *strongly* recommend you invest in small separate chargers for each battery. This has proven to be the most cost-effective and simple to implement battery balancing solution. Without it I wouldn't expect you to get more than a season out of your batteries. With it you may get 3+ seasons (others out there can no doubt give you more advice on this).

BTW, I still have my XM-2000 and XM-3000. I have converted my XM-3000 to LiFePO4 and use it for scooter racing! I'm just about to update it from 60V to 72V - because in my last race I got lapped by Terry (an employee at my company) - and I can't be allowing that!!!! ;-)

Good luck - I really do hope you find an EV scooter that fits your needs - welcome to the club!

John H. Founder of Current Motor Company - opinions on this site belong to me; not to my employer
Remember: " 'lectric for local. diesel for distance" - JTH, Amp Bros || "No Gas.

LeftieBiker