Alternative power for 375 watt 12VDC motor ????

7 posts / 0 new
Last post
digitalis49
Alternative power for 375 watt 12VDC motor ????

Hi all.
I am new to this great forum but have perused it many times past picking up some great knowledge.

PROBLEM:
======
I have a rather heavy trailer dolly fitted with a 375 watt 12vdc down-geared worm drive motor (30amps???).

I know I can mount a 12vdc battery to drive the unit but adding a battery would make the dolly unbearably heavy.

The dolly needs to work approximately 15 ~ 20 minutes per day.

QUESTION:
=======
Can I use a 240vac battery charger (in lieu of a 12v battery) to power the dolly?
I do have an "automatic" 6v/12v, 2A/6A/12A charger which also has a battery start switch.

Is there any other option?

Please, I am not "electrically" minded so your input here will be welcomed.
[Have searched previous posts but nothing found relating to my motor spec]

mf70
Re: Alternative power for 375 watt 12VDC motor ????

I take it that you would like to switch to mains power and a cord rather than a battery powered setup.

If so, I would advise merely getting a 1/2 HP 110V AC motor. If you need reversibility, some AC motors can handle that. It will be MUCH lighter. Low voltage systems are much less efficient than higher voltage systems.

You may want to revisit the control circuits, however, as the original may not have paid much attention to proper grounding; while less efficient, a 12V system is almost completely safe, and a sloppy 12V design would not compromise safety. A sloppy 110V system could leave you on the damp concrete floor dead.

Mark

digitalis49

Thanks MF.
I will assuredly leave the electrical wiring to my cousing who is a certified electrician.

Our power here in Australia is 240 VAC, 50Hz.

Can I ask what spec 1/2hp motor would suit? - e.g. capacitor type, amps? watts? rpm & reduction drive type/ratio?

Sorry but you can see here I am no engineer!!

Regards.

Andrew

mf70