Grinding feeling

7 posts / 0 new
Last post
petetomo
Grinding feeling

Hi Everyone,
I have an older Trek 930 with a 250 watt Bionx system which is only a year old. I unpacked the bike after winter storage in the basement and I've been riding to/from work for the past 2 months. Starting this spring, I am getting a grinding feeling most of the time when the motor kicks in. Because it seems to come and go, I tried to figure out what the pattern is. It turns out, if the front wheel of the bike is turned even slightly to the left, the grinding happens. If I am steering right, it goes away. If I zig zag, it comes and goes as I go left and right.

I'm pretty sure the problem has something to do with the Bionx system since it feels like it is coming from the back and disappears if I turn the system off.

Any thoughts?

davew
davew's picture
Re: Grinding feeling

Is it possible the regen is kicking in? The most common problem I have had with my Bionix is the cabling. Occasionally a connection will come loose and cause inconsistent behavior. In this case I'd pay close attention to the magnetic switch on the hand brake that engages the regeneration. That could easily become sensitive to handle-bar movements if loose or misadjusted.

"we must be the change we wish to see in the world"

petetomo

I don't think it's the regen. I unplugged the handlebar control which disabled regen and I still get the grinding feeling. It also has a different feel than the braking regen.

petetomo

pcarlson1979
pcarlson1979's picture