What if you could drive the future, today?

11 posts / 0 new
Last post
reikiman
reikiman's picture
What if you could drive the future, today?

I wrote up a news report on it here :- http://www.torquenews.com/1075/nissan-leaf-commercial-asks-what-if-you-could-drive-future-today

I rather like this commercial. Nice and friendly and gets right to some good leading questions about the value of owning an electric car.

Last weekend I was able to rent a Nissan Leaf while in Daytona for the TTXGP World Championship. It was my first time having a Leaf over a long period of time. It was really nice.

davew
davew's picture
Re: What if you could drive the future, today?

Nice article! The one quibble I have is until we get battery packs that are not significantly aged with charge/discharge cycles I'm not a huge fan of using cars as energy sources for the grid.

My wife and I have been using a Leaf as our sole car for 9 months now and it working great. It is the perfect vehicle for our low-impact lifestyle. We still do most of our errands on foot or bicycle, but it is nice to have the car for hauling and inclement weather.

"we must be the change we wish to see in the world"

MEroller
MEroller's picture

Dave, your quibble is precisely what I find all those grid folks are completely ignoring. If I allowed the grid to "abuse" my car's battery for their purposes, I would sell the charge they take so expensively to them so that it completely offsets the loss of battery life it is causing.
If the battery is leased like in Renault's thinking, this could be a non-issue, as long as the grid buffer usage was part of the lease deal and I wasn't paying that surcharge.