Quick Help Needed with Purchasing VX-1

57 posts / 0 new
Last post
Kocho
Quick Help Needed with Purchasing VX-1

Hi all - new member here!

I am about to buy a used VX-1, an '07 model in the US with about 10k miles on original NiMH batteries (replaced under recall early in its life, so basically, 5-6 years old at least), updated software a couple of years ago.

What should/can I check for when I inspect it? Understandably, very apprehensive about it, having read about potential issues as much as I could here and elsewhere...

Also, can anyone tell me what is a good way to secure it on a trailer (recommended tie down points)?

I am a complete noob as far as scooters/motor bikes are concerned (electric or otherwise), however, quite well versed in hybrid cars and car mechanics. And I think I gained a fairly good understanding of what is in a Vectrix by reading online (and that scares me a bit!).

A quick reply will be appreciated as I am making the trip to see it in a couple of days.

Again, I am not trying to decide if I should get a Vectrix. Instead, I need help to make sure there aren't any hidden issues that I could check for with the particular one I am looking at.

Thanks!

Kocho
Re: Quick Help Needed with Purchasing VX-1

Sorry about what seems to be 3x posts - this forum is a usability nightmare... please, reply to this thread. Thanks!

mpregal
mpregal's picture

Hi Kocho,

Do you have the CanBus cable? It would be very useful to check the bike's condition.
Without the cable the amount of info you can get/check depends on the firmware version of the bike.
Regarding "tie down points" you can check the manual (if you don't have it please send me a PM).

2014-03-24 17.33.34.png

Good luck!

Kocho

Thanks for the photo - looks simple enough. Email sent about the user manual.

I do not have a CanBus cable for a Vectrix. I do have a generic OBDI code reader (for CAN and for the older standards), but that would probably not report much useful info.