Question about adding extra batteries to increase range of an electric scooter.

3 posts / 0 new
Last post
jfreeman420
Question about adding extra batteries to increase range of an electric scooter.

I am new to the world of electric vehicles and I am planning my first purchase of and electric scooter. I am fairly well educated in electronics as I was a custom car audio installer obout 12 years ago.

I have a decision narrowed down to either the x-treme xb600 or the liberty town and country 48v from www.iloveebikes.com. Does anyone have any comments on which is better? The town and country has a bigger motor and a longer range but with shipping would cost $350 more than the xb600. Is it worth the extra money?

My second question is more technical. Is it possible to add a second set of batteries running at 48v and 20ah in parallel with the original batteries? Two 49v circuits running at 48v each and 20ah wired in parallel would still deliver 48v but 40ah. Would this harm the motor? Would it deliver too much current? Could I alternatively run the first 48v circuit at 20ah and add an additional 48v circuit with 14ah in paralel giving me 34ah adn smaller batteries? Would this effectively double my range? Has anyone done this?

I know the twon and country model has enough room under the seat for 4 additional batteries. I could run the wiring through the body onto the battery compartment in the floorboards. Does the xb600 have enough room as well?

jbird
Re: Question about adding extra batteries to increase range of a