How to change tire with hub motor??

9 posts / 0 new
Last post
no3rdseat
How to change tire with hub motor??

Hi all. I just ordered an EFUN-D and I'm already trying to forsee any problems I might encounter. One thing I don't have an answer for it how hard is it to get a tire replaced on the rear of an electric scooter with a built in hub? Can any scooter place do it? Can a motorcycle shop do it? Do I need to remove the wheel, remove the motor, and then take the wheel to someone to replace the tire? I live in the Washington DC area if anyone knows of someplace that will do this for me.

Thanks,

-Rick Stewart
Silver Spring, MD

gushar
Re: How to change tire with hub motor??

Well, I'm not an expert on this...but I did replace a tube and I could have done the tire as well...on my XB600 scooter/e-bike. I too was wondering if it would be a pain to do. No problem...and you could probably do it yourself if you can change a regular bicycle tire. You certainly wouldn't need to remove the motor from the rim. As a matter of fact I don't know how you would do that with a hub motor since it's basically part of the rim.

Anyway, that is a mute discussion since you don't have to do that. The hub motor has a wiring harness coming out of the axle and it has a plug somehwere on the end where it connects to another set of wires. And so you really just find where it has a plug that you can unplug...and release any "wire ties" or whatever that are holding the wire harness to the frame...and when you remove the wheel it will be just like any other wheel except that a wire harness (with a plug on the end) will be coming out of one side of the axle and you'll have to be careful not to damage that when you're changing the tire.