New to E-bikes, but want to go fast

20 posts / 0 new
Last post
SPEDcial Forces
New to E-bikes, but want to go fast

OK, I'm new to E-bikes and bicycling in general, but want to build an E-bike. I read some of the blogs/manuals, but am not sure exactly how I should go about this, so I'm posting here. I have little EV/bike experience, but I am mechanically inclined and am at home with powertools, metal, bondo, pnematic hoses, metal cutting/bending, and oxy/acetaline welding, although I myself don't own a toarch.

I want to avoid welding though for this project as oxy/acetaline produces weaker, uglier welds, especially because I'm a little rusty, and not to mention that as of now I don't have immediate acess to a toarch.

I don't currently have a bike to convert, but I want to get one. I mainely need something that is good for roads and streets plus short commutes. I do however live in new england, so I'm considering maby putting mountain bike tires on it during the winter to deal with slush and crapy weather (maby?). I weigh about 160 lbs and am 5'9", and want to be able to carry myself, plus gear for a day of paintballing (local field) which probably weights about 30-50 lbs depending on how much stuff I bring along. Anything else I want to carry will weigh less than that.

So yeah, I need a good bike to start with, that meets those needs, and will be able to stand up to the stresses of having a motor+battery pack and going alot faster than normal. I want to make sure it's pretty rugged, so I can take it with me to colledge. I have no problems with buying used, so if people can point out some good brands and what style/size would fit.

Next is the motors, controller, charger, and batteries. I want it to be petal assisted so I can still get home if I run out of batteries and so I can get some exercise if I want to.