building a own E-moped

12 posts / 0 new
Last post
Jesse
building a own E-moped

Hey,

Im new to the EV's but since i discovered you can buy most parts and build one your self i just cant stop thinking about building my own EV. After some thinking I knew what I wanted to make a electric moped. When i was younger i used to play with Puch maxi's which are fairly simple mopeds. Now my idea is to build a electric motor on a Puch maxi since i still have a load of spare parts. Now my question how should i get started ? I looked arround at many sites but wouldn't really find a good FAQ how to start. For example what motor do i need can i just look for a 2nd hand (industrial)motor, or does it have to be one of the electric motors made for EV'S ? And its also not very clear to me what power/performance i get when for example i get a 48 Volt 1200 Watt Electric Scooter Motor or a 36 Volt 750 Watt Electric Scooter Motor. The Puch maxi i will use will weight around 35KG without engine and is chain driven.

I want high performance but i also wanna keep it cheap. So anybody can get me started ?

jdh2550_1
jdh2550_1's picture
Re: building a own E-moped

Hey! I remember those: http://www.digital-brilliance.com/bikes/puch.htm

We had one for a while and I think we manage to ride it around the back yard with at least three people on it :)

I'm pretty sure a 750W motor would be sufficient. 1HP = 745W. However, electric motors are quoted at their "continuous rating" (they can run at that power output 24/7 and never burn out (aside from needing brush replacement)). You can usually reckon on 3 times the power for a peak power output. So, that 750W motor will likely be capable of a peak output of closer to 3HP. I bet the Puch Maxi had closer to 1.5HP max.