Ammeters?

10 posts / 0 new
Last post
JScott
JScott's picture
Ammeters?

Hello all I'm pretty new to the electric bike thing, but am quite excited to have my bike conversion up and going as of this weekend. I currently have a giant mountain bike with a transmagnetic 800W motor along with a Wilderness 50A BLDC controller. I fabricated a timing belt style drive and am running three 12 volt 12AH SLA batteries. This has been an interesting endeavor mainly because none of my equipment came with any sort of directions/wiring diagrams and secondly because the companies themselves arent quite in the know about the product they carry.

Anyhow enough of the history my question is regarding ammeters for use with the 36 volt system I have. I've noticed a problem with my motor sometimes cutting out upon startP1010689.jpg up so I decided to start looking for an ammeter to see what's going on. I've been looking at some different automotive style ammeters that are designed for 12 volts in fact I picked one up today to see if it might work at a higher voltage. It's an analog product so I decided to try it and see if it might be accurate. When juicing my motor I'm getting no more than 3-4amps. Now because of the motor and controller specs I expected a much larger number especially on motor start up. I'm familiar with current voltage and power measurements and how to figure each, but am not familiar with why or why not a meter like this would be inaccurate with a higher voltage. I understand that in the simplest form it's measuring the magnetic force produced by the current, but am wondering if anyone on here might have a little more insight as to why, why not or how you could make something like this to measure higher voltages accurately.

LinkOfHyrule
LinkOfHyrule's picture
Re: Ammeters?

Weird. Off the top of my head, I can't think of any reason why it wouldn't work at higher voltages. (Well, actually, I could, but they all end with the meter being way OVER the actual amperage.)