electric bicycles

5 posts / 0 new
Last post
azurevirus
electric bicycles

Hi all..I was wondering if any of you could help me out on this...Im thinking about purchasing an electric bike or trike..but have really no knowlege of them except for the trike I seen at Walnart..Im thinking about getting it but before I outlay the cash I was wondering what opinions are out there on it and Im open to any suggestions on other makes..Im totally new to the electric bicycles ..altho a neighbors kid does have an electric scooter..but its a kid thing..I would like to know the downsides of owning an electric bicycle..which brands are in ur opinion more worth the money...getting repair parts ..etc...so any help/advice or suggestions would be much appreciated..Thanks Much

IbeRKT
Re: electric bicycles

assuming that by Walnart you mean Walmart

I looked on their website and saw two electric trikes which one were you referring to:

The 2007 I-Zip Tricruiser Electric Tricycle (http://www.walmart.com/catalog/product.do?product_id=5692925)

Or

The Worksman Lightning Trike Electric Tricycle (http://www.walmart.com/catalog/product.do?product_id=5691453)

as for the 2007 I-Zip Tricruiser Electric Tricycle I would have to say this;

1. This unit may be a little under powered for a trike. it has a 450W DC Earth Magnet motor which is OK for scooters but a little small for a full sized trike.

2. It has 36 volts 12ah of lead acid batteries so I think that their estimate of 30-35 miles range may be a bit of a stretch.

On the other hand the price is not bad and it can easily be upgraded with a more powerful motor and better batteries later.

So IMHO it may not be the best choice but it is an OK way to "get your feet wet" so to speak.