Newbie questions - help in selecting first scooter please.

6 posts / 0 new
Last post
bobby c
bobby c's picture
Newbie questions - help in selecting first scooter please.

Hi,

First post here, this is a great site.

I’m a complete newbie with this technology so forgive me for some of my ignorance. I’ve searched around a bit and came to the conclusion that I might get answers if I make a post outlining my needs.

My wife would like to get an electric vehicle/scooter for her commute which is about 6 miles each way. She does bike some but is in a professional setting and needs to dress up on occasion and not get too sweating during her commute. The commute is mostly flat with 1 large hill – as bikers we use it for training and I’d guess it is close to a 20% grade but only for a quarter of a mile. No highways, a vehicle that could go up to 30 mph would be fine. As for the type of vehicle, I’ve done some initial web search and from the pictures, something about the size of EVT scooter or an Oxygen seems perfect. However I was looking in the small scooter forum and saw a picture of the Kaishan K500W bike – that looks like it has possibilities as well. I’d just like something somewhat enclosed and can do at least 25mph.

I know little about the technology – the only batteries I am familiar with are lead-acid. Is this technology still viable or is it on the way out? In general, how long do batteries last (in terms of years)?

I’d love to spend from $1,000 to $1,500 but if there is a quantum leap in either technology or quality, I’d be willing to go higher. Any thoughts on vehicles in these ranges? I’m not interested in saving money and getting a machine that needs a lot of service, quality will be an important factor.