Complete Newb

6 posts / 0 new
Last post
DUIguy
Complete Newb

Well after plugging around the site for a bit, I figure I better jump in. I'm not new to the forum concept, just the entire world of EV's and even the terminology / concepts of electric motors is all. :) So back in Physics 101, I remember the terms volts, amperes, resistores and such, but I didn't do well in that part of the class, yet I majored in Chemistry. I appologize in advance for my ignorance, and hope not to offend. I'm not an idiot, per se, so hopefully I'll catch on soon.
I've joined the ranks of small EV owners and purchased a BladeZ 450 XTR-S Transport. I've owned it for 3 days. Now I'm trying to understand it so I can make it faster.
This is what I know. It's a 24V vehicle, powered by to 12V, 12Ah (don't understand that yet) batteries wired in paralell (or series, i don't remember what that is either). I've read of the ability to add a third battery without too much modification (i.e. buying a new controller, throttle, motor, etc.).
I've spent my money so far, and I am not looking to gut it and spend 300-500 to get 5mph more. I'm looking for the "no-brainer" (emphasis) upgrades or mods that are the cheap and dirty ways to get 5mph more out of it.
I've fried my eyes, staring at the screen, following links of promise of 1000W motors with 48v and wheelies, and realized that I am still in the shallow end of the pool.
Oh, and I'm am fat at 238lbs and 5'10". :) So messing with the gears isn't too much of an option, cause torque is too precious.
So besides being told what to do, I'll take suggestions on readings as well. I'd like to learn more about the watt/ amp/ volt/ Hp/ relationship without enrolling in a class and without picking up a book weighing more than my scooter. Any electronics for dummies sites out there?

Thanks in advance,
Grant

p.s. I noticed some "last" posts are a little old. Does this board still get good traffic?

LinkOfHyrule
LinkOfHyrule's picture
Re: Complete Newb