Global Ebike - making changes

7 posts / 0 new
Last post
Gary Kuhlman
Global Ebike - making changes

I recently bought a Global Ebike and found that the 24v battery is not enough to get the speed I would like. I saw on Youtube someone who took a Dewalt 36v Li-Ion battery and used it on his ebike quite effectively. I am not really experienced with batteries and their properties, so I need some input on the possibility of making such an increase and what steps to take.
Any guidance would be greatly appreciated, :?
Gary

Ian
Re: Global Ebike - making changes

i have 46v 13ah nimh in my 24v evg bike. 36v in the bay and 9v in the small bay where the old controller used to be. along with a crystalyte brush controller. works fine I just keep an eye on the watts up meter so as not to burn out the motor

Gary Kuhlman

Thanks for your answer!!
I'm curious as to what type of batteries you have, and how they fit in the bay (also cost and where purchased). Also, how much did the crystalyte controller cost? Where did you mount the controller? What kind of watts up meter did you use and, again, how much did it cost you (and where purchased)?
As you can see, cost is important to me. I am trying to save as much as I can, and yet I want to be able to cruise to work at a reasonable speed and be able to have batteries that will recharge lasting as long as possible.
I am excited about making this bike one that can save me from spending money on gas, get to work (six miles) in a reasonable amount of time, and experience a certain amount of fitness (cardio) as well.
Thanks again for your response and info,
Gary

Ian