Suppressing EMI in a DC/DC converter

14 posts / 0 new
Last post
JamesNZ
Suppressing EMI in a DC/DC converter

Does anyone have any quick fix solutions or detailed solutions to suppress EMI emissions coming from a DC/DC converter (transformer) on a 48V 1500W e-scooter?.

Can you buy suppression systems? I'm trying to engineer a new converter (not that I am an engineer) so that my e-scooter passes EC/97/24 European radiation emission Standards. So far I have made some modifications to the converter eg. Feeding the current into the casing using 3 100nF capacitors and trying to seal the current in the converter casing but have had no luck. Not sure how they do it in big brand e-bikes like Vectrix?

Maybe someone has some comments or knows about the vectrix converters because it's out of my league! :? Maybe someone knows where the converters are are made so I could get one sent to new zealand and have a look?

ArcticFox
ArcticFox's picture
Re: Suppressing EMI in a DC/DC converter

Try using inductors along with the capacitors.

Capacitors are for filtering higher frequencies, inductors are for low. Also try changing the values of each to adjust the filtering to your specific issue. I'm sure there's some math that could figure it out better.

<table border="0" style="border:1px solid #999999; padding:10px;"><tr><td>
<a href="http://www.BaseStationZero.com">[img]http://visforvoltage.org/files/u419...
[size=1][color=black]www.[/color][color=#337799]BaseStationZero[/color][co

JamesNZ

Thanks very much for the tips.
Is there any test equipment I could buy to test the DCDC converter for EMI in isolation rather than testing the whole scooter in an expensive radiation facility??

Mik
Mik's picture

Do you want to export scooters from NZ to Europe?

Mr. Mik

This information may be used entirely at your own risk.

There is always a way if there is no other way!

JamesNZ

Not at this stage or in the future realistically.

Mik
Mik's picture