Off-the-shelf/cheap/simple solutions wanted!

15 posts / 0 new
Last post
InTroubleAgain
Off-the-shelf/cheap/simple solutions wanted!

I posted a few days ago re: my acquisition of a VOY/Phantom 4/ Sunbird electric scooter for diagrams and advice on how to rehab this thing. I was directed to an online parts source, which was somewhat helpful in that it stated those parts are now unavailable. I also acquired a stand-up, 24 volt, 4.5ah scooter. Neither has a charger, and ordering online is not an option due to my financial situation (i.e., loss of job, impending divorce, kid in expensive lib arts college, credit tanked, yada...) I need help getting both up and running as part of my solution to local transportation beyond the limit of normal pedal bike range (clutch on my car is also dead). I have some background in electronics, but I've spent most of my life as a software engineer. I have to say that most of the resources on this and other forums seem to be geared to those with more background/leisure interest than I, and a couple of other posters (thanks DUIguy!) have. In short, I need solutions that can come from Radioshack/Walmart/KMart/Pepboys. I also need SIMPLE, intelligable diagrams,explanations and resources. This is NOT a hobby for me, and based on casual, unscientific survey of those around me, I gather there will be a groundswell of interest in these systems as basic transportation. CAN SOMEONE PLEASE DIRECT ME TO SOMETHING THAT DOES NOT INVOLVE ELECTRIC UNICYCLES, AND SELF-CONGRATULATORY "AM I NOT THE ULTIMATE HACKER" STUFF? A couple of sites that promised DIY solutions consisted of a couple of fuzzy jpg's, nearly unreadable descriptions, then equally unintellible posts. I'm really in need of quick, cheap, and above all, LOCAL, OFF-THE-SHELF solutions. If this forum cannot help, could someone PLEASE direct me to a more appropriate resource?
Thank you!
I'm done ranting: now to a specific question