How big is the problem of water on an electric vehical

6 posts / 0 new
Last post
davem
How big is the problem of water on an electric vehical

About 3000 years ago when Mastodon's ruled California and Ronald Regan was president I was a Coast Guard helicopter mechanic. Salt water was NOT our friend but it was our constant companion.

We use to spray a moisture displacement product(CRC) that seemed similar to WD-40, on all of our electrical components. As I was also the Search and Rescue crewman on those same helicopters, and have maintained my corporeal body - the stuff worked.

As a cyclist I often find good days turn bad with no warning. I realize water is never the preferred atmosphere for electrical devices , nor cyclists. But if the 3500 can only be ridden in "dry" weather, I better start writing to Julia Roberts cause this particular dream will be dead for me.

Thanks to all who reply.

LinkOfHyrule
LinkOfHyrule's picture
Re: How big is the problem of water on an electric vehical

As long as the controller is watertight/potted or in a place that water can't get to it, then there's really nothing that water could do, immediately speaking. Motors (especially brushless ones) are really more hardy than people give them credit for. It's not necessarily a good idea, but you could submerge them in water and still have them run. Batteries, too. There are ebikers in really wet areas (think like Washington) who have no problems.

Just check to see if there's any water pooled up anywhere after a ride in the wet. This is never good over long periods of time.

The author of this post isn't responsible for any injury, disability or dismemberment, death, financial loss, illness, addiction, hereditary disease, or any other undesirable consequence or general misfortune resulting from use of the "information" contai

tabloid