75mph+ EVC Volta anticipation thread

31 posts / 0 new
Last post
PetroZero
PetroZero's picture
75mph+ EVC Volta anticipation thread

I'm a newbie to the forum, so I hope this is not presumptuous of me, but I didn't see a dedicated thread to the upcoming EVC Volta 75mph electric maxi scooter, so I thought I'd start one. The bike is said to be capable of multiple configurations, the least expensive of which gets it a 75mph top speed. Quite impressive though, is that in its premium configuration, the top speed is listed as 90-120mph! They also are American made (hence the Vectrix like pricing I suppose) and come with a 3 year warranty. Hopefully, like Vectrix, the price will come down substantially to allow these bikes to have a chance to succeed (either that, or the Chinese bikes will continue to improve in quality speed and range and force the American made bikes to compete on price).

EVWorld Story on Volta with a video

Volta PDF Brochure (PDF)

Here are the specs for the base model...

Wheelbase: 65"
Weight: 390lb
Front Tire: 120/70 R15
Rear Tire: 160/70 R15
Power: 8KW / 11.1 HP
Torque (Motor Shaft): 17NM / 12.5 Ft Lb
Torque (Rear Wheel): 47.6NM / 35 Ft Lb
Efficiency: 92.3%
Maximum Speed: 70-85 MPH
0-50 MPH: 5.5 & 5.1 Seconds
Range: 75 Miles (@40-45MPH on Level Terrain)
Gearing/Speed Chart
Metro City Cruiser MSRP: starting at $7995 Metro City Cruiser Brochure
Metro City Sportster MSRP: starting at $8,550 Metro City Sportster Brochure

All Volta Step Thru Electric Motorcycles
Brakes: Regenerative Electronic Brakes, Dual Disk, ABS
Motor: Synchronous AC Disk Permanent Magnet - Sealed IP 54 Protection
Gearing: Forward & Reverse standard
Gear Ratios: 2.11 & 4.5
Emissions: NONE
Seating Capacity: 2 Passengers
Range: 75 Miles (approximate based on 40-45MPH on flat terrain)
Warranty: 3 Years

reikiman
reikiman's picture
Re: 75mph+ EVC Volta anticipation thread

We add forums on an as-needed basis. So far the Volta and EVC has not been available for sale.. has this changed?