Curie s250

8 posts / 0 new
Last post
Frige
Frige's picture
Curie s250

Newbie here 8)
I just found this site and it seems to be full of great information. I have a couple of curie scooters that I use at the track and the small one is giving me problems. The batteries died so I replaced them with the ones for a s350 to give more range. I think the motor is draging as it blew the 40amp fuse. How hard is it to upgrade tp a 350watt or larger motor? I assume you have to replace the controller. What else is involved? Maybe I should just pick up a s1000 to move my fat butt around :D

Frige
Frige's picture
Re: Curie s250

Wow no response?
Oh well I will just part it out I guess. It looks like it would not be cost effective to soup it up. Anyone hear how the s1000 is? I see it has a direct drive is that better or worse?

TheScrutinizer

I can't tell you about how to mod your S250.

However, I can tell you that the ST1000 is not as cool as it looks. I too was very impressed by the direct drive (DD) feature but I no longer am.

My first ST1000 went FUBAR because the DD failed. There's no way to service it and you have to replace the entire motor, DD and rear wheel for $250. So I just bought another one.

I've only had the second one a couple months and the DD is already making funny sounds. Naturally the day after the warranty expires will be the day it fails.

The older Currie's might have had problems with the chain jumping off but at least it was an easy fix.

Scooters never seem to last very long. :-(

Tireiron55
Tireiron55's picture