Question for expert Vectrix Riders - Problems with brake

6 replies [Last post]
emanuele
Offline
Joined: 08/09/2008
Points: 7

Hello everybody, my name is Emanuele and I am writing from near Venice, Italy.
I have been following this forum for quite a while although I have never posted message!
I wish I had to do it for a much more pleasing reason:-)
What happened is that for some reason my throttle is behaving strangely: When I release it after accelerating it starts to softly push the break as if I was it using it to stop. I fear it may need to be set on the right position. It's a matter of a few millimeters, and I was wondering if any of you (somebody in australia, maybe:-) ?) knows if this can be fixed on my own.
And by the way, as this ever happened to you??
I hope there's an easy way out, it's quite uncomfortable to ride it around always keeping my right hand slightly accelerating to avoid pushing the break.
Cheers and thanks a lot.E

Comment viewing options

Select your preferred way to display the comments and click "Save settings" to activate your changes.
Mik
Mik's picture
Offline
Joined: 12/11/2007
Points: 3739
Re: Question for expert Vectrix Riders - Problems with brake

This is hopefully an easy fix:

Leave your hands off the throttle during the entire bootup sequence.

The Vectrix sets the "zero point" for the throttle during bootup, and if you pull it a little bit during this, then the mechanically neutral position will be "electronically" a light regen position until you reboot.

Let us know if this fixes it, please!

Mr. Mik

__________________

This information may be used entirely at your own risk.

There is always a way if there is no other way!

DaveD
DaveD's picture
Offline
Joined: 06/16/2008
Points: 86
Re: Question for expert Vectrix Riders - Problems with brake

I had this same behavior happen to me today. Since I'm having a problem with my brake light not working, my first thought was that the two behaviors were somehow related. Thinking about it further, I decided that they probably weren't. In any case, when I arrived at my destination, I turned off the Vectrix, and then turned it back on, being careful to not touch the throttle until it had finished initialization. Then I rode it around a bit - no sign of the throttle problem! Just a case of "operator error". :-)

Morrison
Offline
Joined: 07/07/2008
Points: 151
Re: Question for expert Vectrix Riders - Problems with brake

I have also had this issue a few times. I thought it was a throttle problem and I was in "light regen" mode when coasting. But it only happens sometimes.

Mik's tip about the boot process makes a lot of sense. Thanks.

:::Note to self. Keep your hands to yourself:::

Mik
Mik's picture
Offline
Joined: 12/11/2007
Points: 3739
Re: Question for expert Vectrix Riders - Problems with brake

You can even shorten the time until you can ride off by pulling L and R brake during the boot sequence, but do not touch the throttle in the process until "GO" is displayed.
(Thumb against kill-switch housing).

Could be handy when rebooting at traffic lights for some reason, like having to open the glove box or seat.

Mr. Mik

__________________

This information may be used entirely at your own risk.

There is always a way if there is no other way!

emanuele
Offline
Joined: 08/09/2008
Points: 7
Re: Question for expert Vectrix Riders - Problems with brake

oh wow that was sooo easy! Everything working just fine now!
Thanks a lot, you nice people:-)
Ciao,e

eyeinthesky
eyeinthesky's picture
Offline
Joined: 01/05/2008
Points: 128
Re: Question for expert Vectrix Riders - Problems with brake

Hi Emanuele, another way to solve this problem, Firstly make sure the handle grip is not hard up against the kill switch body which would prevent self centring.
turn off either kill switch or key and twist accel grip full turns from reversing to forward fast with the flat palms of your hand. , working the accel like that will loosen it up. I used to do this, another thing I did was lubricate the spring and slide assembly inside the kill switch housing, I havent had this problem now for 6000kslm it is fixed. Now clocked 9500klms

Peter

Comment viewing options

Select your preferred way to display the comments and click "Save settings" to activate your changes.

style="display:block"
data-ad-client="ca-pub-2401070691062219"
data-ad-slot="2079401426"
data-ad-format="auto">



Who's new

  • Martin_EV4
  • acsatue
  • 186kmps
  • L00n16yup
  • SoulSnatcher

Customize This