New guy here wanted to introduce myself / Taco minibike project

12 posts / 0 new
Last post
sawracer
New guy here wanted to introduce myself / Taco minibike project

Hello. Nice to meet you all. I look forward to picking up what I can here and hope to be able to add to the forum when I can. My first EV build is a Taco minibike that currently sports a five horse briggs. I picked up a 1204 curtis controller, a magura twist throttle, three 12 volt 20 amp hour batteries, and a used WW2 era 24 volt ball bearing aircraft starter. The fabrication and machine work will come easy it's the wiring I am confused about. I am new to the game and have little experience and no local EV pals yet. Here's a first pic for fun, I hope I have the size right. I live in SoCal.
//i13.photobucket.com/albums/a283/gobrdgo/P1010856.jpg)

sawracer
Re: my project

//i13.photobucket.com/albums/a283/gobrdgo/P1010857.jpg)
Trying to figure out how the three pictured wires hook into controller. My 1204 diagrams just show two for throttle.
//i13.photobucket.com/albums/a283/gobrdgo/P1011033.jpg)

sawracer

Here are a couple more pics showing my wiring diagram. If it looks right or wrong I would appreciate the input. Thanks.
//i13.photobucket.com/albums/a283/gobrdgo/P1011028.jpg)
//i13.photobucket.com/albums/a283/gobrdgo/P1011030.jpg)
Does the green wire make sense that I am pointing to with the pen?

reikiman
reikiman's picture

The Curtis controller takes a 0-5k ohm input across its throttle inputs. You should get a multimeter and use the ohm setting to figure out which pair of the wires are 0-5k ohm. One pair of wires will read 5k ohms regardless of how you twist the throttle. The other two pairs of wires will read 0-5k and 5-0k ohms.

The green wire is correct but it's good form to put a switch in the middle of it. However with the low key esthetics of that bike ;-) you could just have a wire with a blade connector on the end and disconnect it each time.