Alternator Output Question

5 posts / 0 new
Last post
Rane
Alternator Output Question

Hi, I was wondering if it would be possible to get (or build) an alternator with an output of a somewhere around 70 volts and 250 amps. I've seen alternators with the amp output I'm looking for, however, I've not seen any with a high amount of voltage. How would I go about making an alternator with that amount of voltage? Is it even possible? I'll be honest, I'm really new to this level of electrical stuff... Any ideas, suggestions would be really appreciated.

LinkOfHyrule
LinkOfHyrule's picture
Re: Alternator Output Question

17.5kW output? I'm pretty sure no alternator puts out that kind of power...

Alternators are usually 12-14V because that's what cars' electrical systems use.

In theory, you could rewind one with five or six times the number of turns, but then you'd have to use wire with 1/5 or 1/6th of the cross-sectional area, drastically increasing resistive losses. Higher resistance would either mean the thing fries from the heat generated at 250A, or even that it won't be able to generate 250A at all.

What do you want this for, anyway?

The author of this post isn't responsible for any injury, disability or dismemberment, death, financial loss, illness, addiction, hereditary disease, or any other undesirable consequence or general misfortune resulting from use of the "information" contai

rgx