nine continents kit from ebikes.ca

3 posts / 0 new
Last post
brownj24
nine continents kit from ebikes.ca

Hi everyone,

I've been doing a lot of reading the last month or so. I bought a 48v20ah LiFePO4 battery off ebay last night and I think I'm going to order a nine continents kit from ebikes.ca with upgraded controller to 72 volts. They offer a decent warranty and the motor on this kit sounds well-built.

Does anyone have any feedback on this kit. I know it's similar or the same as the kits at ampedbikes. Should I be considering something else. On ebike.ca, with 48 volts their simulator posts top speeds of just over 50 km/hour. Is it reasonable to expect to be able to get close to this with moderate pedal-assist?

I think I've read so much now that I've become indecisive, so any direction one way or or another from you guys who have all the experience would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks

Jerry

dogman
dogman's picture
Re: nine continents kit from ebikes.ca

I have no experience with the nine continents kit, but most kits in that wattage will reach at least 40-45 kph when run at 48v, which with lifepo4 is really at least 56 volts or maybe more. On a lifepo4 pack, 48v would be when the battery is really drained and about to cut out. From what I see of the specs you have made good choices matching the battery and motor. Actual speed of your motor will depend on the winding count of the motor, wheel sise, and of course hills or headwinds. I am not sure how the 9 continents motor compares for speed with the 406 or 408, but you can get some idea by looking at simulators. At 48v many motors can do 50 kph so it would not be an inflated claim for it to do so. Be aware though, that usefull peadle assist on most mtb or cruiser bikes doesn't go past 30 kph or so, because of the low gear ratios. You may be able to peadle that fast, but you aren't able to push very hard unless you have at least a 48 tooth front chainring on a 14 rear gear. Somehow I recently found a 58 tooth