Montague / Currie Conversion Bike - Used Value Question

5 posts / 0 new
Last post
Aktivator
Montague / Currie Conversion Bike - Used Value Question

I am new to eBike conversions and am considering the potential value of a used conversion eBike.

I came across someone in my area selling a cool aluminum Montague Folding Bike to which someone mounted a 24 volt Currie Electro-drive kit. I like the bike itself and it lists for $599 new. I have not seen it yet.

The seller of this outfit wants $550 for the entire eBike. He tells me that the bike has new tires and a 24 volt Currie Battery. He says it’s fast. He lives in a fairly flat terrain, but I have a hill which has significant inclines of 10% in stretches and is three quarters of a mile long. I weigh about 225 lbs.

The seller did not know how powerful the motor in the Currie Kit was. I think it was purchased and installed by a third party maybe 3 or 4 years ago. I had trouble finding much information about the model number and specs of such a Currie Kit. I hope to see the bike soon, and I want to be prepared.

My questions:
1.) What would the value of such a setup be?
2.) Assuming that the motor is not powerful enough, what are my options for upgrading to a more powerful motor, battery setup good enough for hill climbing?

If this Currie Kit is not worth much, I would consider buying something else such as a geared rear hub style kit. Any suggestions are appreciated.

reikiman
reikiman's picture
Re: Montague / Currie Conversion Bike - Used Value Question

If it's in good shape that may be a fair price. The Montague bikes are rugged.. I owned one for a while and was rather impressed. However folding it up was a bit of a chore, especially getting all the parts to properly collapse. Does it include the Montague bag? (The bag itself lists for $100)

Aktivator