Questions about converting to Li batteries and bike trailers...

2 posts / 0 new
Last post
sixpax2k9
Questions about converting to Li batteries and bike trailers...

I wont be doing this any time soon but I wanted to know what would need to be done to make this conversion..

I have an xb-600 running at 60V using the normal sla batteries.
I was just curious, if I decided to switch to a Lithium battery pack what all would need to be replaced?
I mean, its not just as easy as swapping in a 60V Li battery pack with maybe a BMS or something is it?

I may consider doing this in the future depending on its validity. I mean using Li batteries would reduce the bikes weight, increase performance, and increase its range not to mention a longer battery life.

Am I missing anything here?????

I admit I am rather new to the EV scene but I am no dummy when it comes to electrical systems, I just dont have any experience with Lithium based batteries.

I also have been tinkering with the idea of building a trailer for the bike. One that could hold an extra battery pack as well as an area for larger items like grocery shopping. I have seen some ideas on this site, just wondering if anyone else has made or bought anything like it. I know they make trailers for motorcycles but I wasnt looking to spend that kind of money on one.

reikiman
reikiman's picture
Re: Questions about converting to Li batteries and bike ...

Well, electrons are electrons. The motor & controller only know about electrons, they don't know what chemistry the battery is.

Where it might make a difference is: a) battery gauge, b) behavior of estimates of future range, c) charger, d) voltage range of DC-DC converter, e) voltage range of controller