What would be best for our batteries?

10 posts / 0 new
Last post
turok
turok's picture
What would be best for our batteries?

I have a question, but I don't know if anyone can answer this completely.

In EV's I'm a novice, but I understand the basics of electronics.

The manual I received with my V states that it is ok (or is it safe?)to plug/unplug the charging cord whenever you want.
It even says that you will benefit even from short charges & topping off.
Apparently the BMS will take care of it?

But I wonder what effect it will have on a long term due to the "memory effect" on batteries.

I, e.g., have only a few km to commute, so if I wish I could go through a whole week before I have to recharge.
My gut tells me I should only recharge when "as empty as possible" (no deep discharge though)
But when I read certain threads, my gut feeling may be wrong? Some people would still recharge every day ("topping off")?

Can anyone enlighten me?
Does anyone know what the BMS does (if anything) to keep up the shape of the pack?

Turok

myvectrix2008
myvectrix2008's picture
Re: What would be best for our batteries?

I am no good with electrics, but it is my understanding that Ni-MH batteries do not suffer from the memory effect like Ni-Cad cells do. I would have thought that every once in a while it would be good to wait until the cells are low on charge, say 1 or 2 bars, and give it a full recharge including equalization.

HarryS

I drive 15 miles each way to work and the battery is just about half empty. I can make a roundtrip with only 1-2 miles to spare. I am charging twice daily on each side of the commute. I did call Vectrix and ask the about their recommendation and they recommended that I charge unless I have no opportunity to do so.

qmprius

Hello.
My english is limited. Sorry