Price

6 posts / 0 new
Last post
prizestuff
Price

Hello,

I am new to this bike setup. First, I want to get on the idea of wether this is worth it for you people. I don't want to spend my hard earned cash on something that costs as much as some second hand cars. I could get an Apple laptop for this money! I am getting the PL-350 as that is the only one my LBS carries. I did some scratching around and found out that bike shops get these for around $1,100 canadian from the factory. Add on a little shipping and they are making around $450 dollars profit on you. This means that for BionX to make these it probably only costs around $300 after all the certifications and materials and salaries come in. I tried to ask my LBS if they could lower the price. No go, in fact, I learned they are charging $50 more than other stores. I currently have a Schwinn I-Zip that was sold in CT a year ago. I need to get rid of it. I want another electric bike to help my leg. I can then ditch the motor and ride normally with my buddies again.

What I am really trying to say is that, do you think these things are good? I want something virtually maintenance free, easy to obtain in Canada, and fast-ish with decent battery life. I already have a good bike to install kits on, it is a 700c tire size bike. (if that helps)

Thanks

m0rdac
Re: Price

I'm new to this too. You have to crunch the numbers and decide for yourself if the cost is worth it.

For example, we are a two car family, but my son now has his license and with school ending will need a car to get to work. A 3rd vehicle is probably going to be necessary. For us, the numbers look like this...