How would YOU break in your brand new Vectrix battery pack?

4 posts / 0 new
Last post
ElectricLou
ElectricLou's picture
How would YOU break in your brand new Vectrix battery pack?

Hello All,

I am no battery expert but have been messing around with sla and nicads for years. Built electric model airplanes in the mid 80's and learned the importance of cell matching. In fact just upgraded one of my scooters with 3 new 16 ah sla's. Charged each one up separately, then load tested them with an ordinary "toaster" type of automotive battery tester. Lucky I had a set of six to match with, all 6 did not put out identical current. I just use the tester's cca scale and write that number on each battery I test, then pair identical cells or batteries. Even then, once the matched cells are combined into a series pack some cells want to charge to a higher or lower voltage. While monitoring this I manually put a load tester on the cell with the high voltage until the voltage on all the cells is equalized. Usually after the first high current discharge, they will equalize (if they were matched properly). I am a firm believer in powercheqs and install them after a matched pack is built and tested. Why don't they make them any more?

All this sets the stage for my question to you all. How would you break in the batteries on your new Vectrix? We all know what kills cells quick, cell reversal during discharge or charge. My Gosh, the Vectrix has 102 cells and the internal BMS does not monitor them all! If it did not void the warranty I would do what Mr. Mik did, monitor all the cells and manually intervene on any imbalance. I really wish someone made powercheqs for nimh cells!