new to EVs

5 posts / 0 new
Last post
le5cav
new to EVs

hi everyone,my names luke and im new to thw scene and gettinjg ready to do my first conversion and looking for some tips. I want to do a Triumph TR-6 conversion, but desided to start a bit smaller with my 81 Honda CB750 twincam. i seen jdh2550's thread already. His bike is older than mine and offers less space, so Im hoping to be able to fit more batteries. The goal is to acheave 50+mile range at a top speed of 70mph the acceleration is not important to me so high gearing will not bother me. Ive been reading up on coversion kits but its all greek to me. I am a certifed Vw expert tech, so I shouldn't have any problems with fabrication, wiring and the like... I've just never worked with DC motors and Controlers. any help you can offer would be greatly appreciated.

p.s. I'll try to get pictures up tomarrow

reikiman
reikiman's picture
Re: new to EVs

For a motorcycle conversion I suggest finding a copy of "The Secrets of el Ninja" or other booklets by John Bidwell. el Ninja is important as it goes through the generic steps of converting any motorcycle.

The http://evalbum.com is a good resource of existing conversions, plus gives contact info for most of 'em so you can ask questions. But some of us here have done conversions and can walk you through the electronics. It's pretty simple really.

Your speed and range goals might be tricky to meet. Just want to say that up front. You'll need to use lithium batteries.

le5cav

any idea on what motor and controller i should use also what would be the best voltage to use? was consiering a sidecart if need be. thanks

myocardia

Welcome to V is for Voltage, Luke.

Your speed and range goals might be tricky to meet. Just want to say that up front. You'll need to use lithium batteries.