Motor type and size for trike conversion

9 posts / 0 new
Last post
tilopa
Motor type and size for trike conversion

This is a total newbie question, I spent some days reading the forums (this is an excellent site btw), but still need help starting out. I plan to convert a schwinn Meridian trike to electric. I live on a large campus that has hilly grass so I need some power to get around. Also, I will have a small 2-wheel trailer that I will be pulling with a small load.

It seems that the hub motors are very popular, but for my situation (needed to pull weight, and needing more power) is this a good choice. Can I do a hub motor on each of the rear wheels powered by one controller? Also, I am seeing a huge discrepancy in prices for the same wattage of motor, I can find 1000w 48v motors for $135, and then their are (apparently) much smaller motors for 3 times that price. What are the other aspects of the motor I need to look at besides the watts and volts?

Thanks very much.

marylandbob
Re: Motor type and size for trike conversion

I would advise at least 3,000 watts, or about 3 1/2 horsepower, as a minimum for what you descrbe, assuming a spped of perhaps 20 to 30 mph is adequate, and the hills are not too steep. It will NOT be very CHEAP to do correctly! (Personally, I would use two "ETEK" brushless motors, with a 72 volt, Lithium battery.(Probably about 4 or 5 thousand dollars, for batteries, motors, and controller/charger) One motor of this type will do, if you are not too heavy, and the trailer load is very light/easy to pull uphill. 60 AH or better batteries are advisable, for good range and service.-Bob

Robert M. Curry

reikiman
reikiman's picture