Regen Braking Burns up Controller ???

5 posts / 0 new
Last post
diverdon
Regen Braking Burns up Controller ???

Hello Everyone ,
I just read this post on another website and it got me sorta concerned ..This Guy got a kit from one of the manufacturers and when he used it for the second time it burnt up his controller ..

Seems the diagnosis is that the regen braking was putting out too much current for the SLA batteries he was using and it sorta "backed up" and burnt the controller ??? That's the story ...

Gonna try to post a link to the site .. endless sphere .. Thing is I'm a real newbie and am hopeing to get my first e-bike going Monday .. Had to wait for payday to even be able to afford the SLA Batteries I'm gonna use for now .. Cannot afford the LiFePo4 for now and REALLY want to get going .. This motor .. "kit" is the new Magic Pie with the internal controller ... I have nothing else to compare it with but so far I'm impressed .. Seems to be good quality parts ..The motor-spokes-wheel and axel are really heavy duty .. I't came to me in Florida from China in 7 - seven days ..

Anyhow I haven't heard of anything like this anywhere else .. Seems like lots of people would be reporting it if it was a problem . But if anyone out there can set my mnd at ease I'd really appreciate it .. I'd even unhook the regen braking for now .. (if it doable) untill I get another battery ..

OK , Longgg enough - Thanks again , Don J.

http://endless-sphere.com/forums/viewtopic.php?f=2&t=14355

marylandbob
Re: Regen Braking Burns up Controller ???