builing an electric go kart from an old electric golf kart and have a few questions...

8 posts / 0 new
Last post
extremegokart94
builing an electric go kart from an old electric golf kart and have a few questions...

hello, this is matt and i just registered here cause i am just getting into building electric vehicles. right now i am on the verge of using the batteries and motor from an old golf cart to build an electric go kart. my friend really wants to sell it, whereas i think it would be a much better idea to turn it into a go kart. i am unsure how exactly an electric vehicle operates and what certain devices do in the golf cart, so im searching for info.

first of all, heres the specs on the golf cart:
cushman golfster cart we think thats maybe 15-20 years old
36 volt G.E. series motor
six 8v batteries (we were told they were a year old)
old-style speed control (three different speeds controlled with resistor coils)
it has a black box with six wires going to various places, and i looked up the model # which says its a relay. i am unsure what this does.
it has a 36 volt solinoid

questions about the golf cart:

1. is the motor running on 48 volts? or does the solinoid limit the voltage to 36 volts? (what does the solinoid do, and if we got a 48 volt one would it speed up the motor to 48 volts?)
2. when we charge the batteries with the included 48 volt charger, the batteries bubble quite noticeably. the charger usually cuts off only one hour to 3 hours into charging and reads, "abnormal cycle." what could be the possible problems with the batteries and/or charger? is there a way to fix this?

i would like to get the batteries charging well and in the best condition possible before thinking about using them for the go kart.

questions about using everything for a go kart:

1. what would we need to set up a throttle and a speed controller for a low price?
2. how fast could we get our go kart to run without burning the motor?