Newb with battery question

3 posts / 0 new
Last post
GForce
Newb with battery question

Hi there,

I'm a newbie to the electric bike world. I just purchased a CS(brand) ES-101(model) i believe. It doesn't actually say in my user manual, if that's what you wanna call it, nor does it on the ownership tag.

When I lift the seat there's a white "control module" looking box and my battery pack.
The battery box is all one big black unit, with a plug on it that leads to the control module.
On the control module it says that it's a 48volt, 500watt scooter.

I've got it up to roughly 28-30 just the way it is. Luckily for me it's chain driven, so I am going to be changing the sprockets to receive more speed. However I would like to increase the longevity of my bike. The charger auto shuts off when charged, so it says, and I got roughly 15 km's our of it before it would no longer even go over 12.

I would like to know if there's something I can check to see if one of the cells in my battery has died, or add a second battery, or set of batteries to increase the longevity as it's supposed to get at least 40 - 50 km's to a charge.

Any advice, tips, help would be greatly appreciated.

I do know the differences between ac, dc, series and parrellel and know a fair bit about electronics. Just unsure about these bikes and certain specifics with them like the controller.

Mik
Mik's picture
Re: Newb with battery question

I know nothing about this particular bike - so take all of this with a big grain of salt.

Manufacturers range claim = 1/2 of optimistic real world range. Tough, but true for most EV's these days, I believe. Most seem to believe that they need to match their competitors lies!

The optimistic real world range is what you will get on relatively flat ground, with gentle driving, in cool to warm weather with a light rider.

In hilly terrain, with a heavy rider and in either very cold or very hot weather you might get a lot less range, again.