Noob - Considering an EVT 168

8 posts / 0 new
Last post
mososokruppe
Noob - Considering an EVT 168

Hi all,

I'm a complete newbie to electric scooters, but I have been interested in getting one for a few years now. I'm finally in the position to buy one, but I was hoping to run my idea by some people with some knowledge before blindly spending thousands of dollars.

I really like the look of the EVT 168. And it seems to have specs that meet my needs.

My commute to work is only 2 miles one way and 2 miles home. There are 2 relatively steep hills on my commute. My grocery store and most other things in my town are 15 miles or less from my house. I only need the scooter to have one passenger, myself. I live in central Pennsylvania, so I wouldn't be able to ride it much during the considerable winter months.

I'm hoping to get opinions as to whether people think the EVT 168 would be a good fit. Also, are there any particular websites that people would recommend for buying one? The best I have found so far seems to be soundspeedscooters.com.

Also, I am really torn about whether a Lead or Lithium battery would be best. If I can afford the Lithium option is it worth it?

Any help is appreciated!

-Nick

antiscab
Re: Noob - Considering an EVT 168

when the lead batteries are new, you should get 15 miles one way.

lithium is great, and upgrade if you can afford it.
but first use the original lead batteries till they fail (IMO)

Matt

Daily Ride:
2007 Vectrix, modified with 42 x Thundersky 60Ah in July 2010. Done 194'000km

mososokruppe

Thanks! Anyone else have any advice on my other questions?

reikiman
reikiman's picture

My experience with the EVT scooters is that they're excellently put together. I've had an EVT 4000 since 2002 and have had no problems with it at all.

mososokruppe

Any info about the need to register and title this in the state of Pennsylvania?