Public or at-work EV charging & the coming wave of EV's

2 posts / 0 new
Last post
reikiman
reikiman's picture
Public or at-work EV charging & the coming wave of EV's

I had an interesting experience driving my car to work today. My day job is at Yahoo and there is EV parking in the employee parking lot. It's on the 2nd floor of the garage and events have worked out such that a flock of hybrid car owners have decided those spots are for them. Presumably the lack of EV's using the EV parking meant the hybrid owners began to believe they were qualified to use those spots. I saw the same thing happen at my prior employer (Sun) where I was the only EV owner using the EV parking and often other people would use the EV parking.

In any case - I already know that to use the EV parking I have to get there before 9:00 AM which is (ahem) an uncommon hour of the morning for a software engineer to show up at work ... This morning I didn't show up until 9:30ish and the spots were full with hybrid cars. Except for the spot next to them which is marked "IT Only" and I'd noted at other times electric NEV truck would be parked there. So that's where I parked. I badly needed to plug in because somehow I barely made it to work.

That set off a chain of talking with people which isn't finished yet. I left a note on my car explaining why I'd parked there. I left notes on the hybrid cars explaining that they do not own electric vehicles. I contacted the security people about EV parking and the supervisor understood the situation very well. And he gave me the name of Yahoo's transportation coordinator.

The security guy says he'll be arranging a pylon at one of the parking spots saying it is reserved for me (and including my name on the thing). That's wonderful, that if it works out I'll have my own parking spot, and maybe the hybrid car owners will get some education.