xb-600 charger

18 posts / 0 new
Last post
William Lim
xb-600 charger

Hi Guys, newbie here. Just got my XB-600 last week, and had some small problems while installing (especially the mirrors... I have yet to buy plumbers tape and apply those on to the screws).

One main issue I had was with the charger - the first time I charged the batteries (not thru the seat plug but thru the battery casing) for 12+ hours and the indicator was still red, but the batteries were so hot. After putting the batteries in, the battery meter went off the roof pass "H".

I've searched the forum and seems like some ppl had their batteries explode, or had short battery life... So what's the correct way of charging? The manual says charge after each use. Given that my charger doesn't indicate when it's full (does yours?), I can only second guess and charge about 4 hours after a light ride, and 8 hours after a long, 10+ miles one. After reading the post about batteries exploding, I'm definitely not going to charge it overnight now...

Thanks!
Bill

Spaceangel
Re: xb-600 charger

I feel it is always nice to have a backup charger anyways. I use a 48 Volt Iota because it gives a fast charge when I need it. Mostly I leave my bike on the Teking charger which is slow but charges full and never over charges either. Either way you still have to check battery pack to see if batteries are good and don't exceed 2.3 volts per cell. Maybe 2.4v/c but definitely not 2.5 or more. The batteries will release their valves and pop a top. I keep a cheap charger under the seat and expensive home or at work. Keeps from having it bounce around and breaking. I presume you have standard IEC charge port? Make sure battery pack hangs around 52 or 53 volts after charge and 54 or 55 fresh off of charge. Check with Xtreme if you have warranty issue.

KB1UKU

mf70

Ouch!

The good news is that your batteries are probably all right so far.