Help!!

14 posts / 0 new
Last post
newtoitall
Help!!

Hello all, I am really excited about building an EV but am not sure how to procede. I am a Mechanical engineering student at Texas A&M University and I am realy comfortable building an IC bike, but want a challenge and I think EV builds are really cool, (especialy custom builds) plus it is waaaaay different than anything I have ever done.
As the username suggests, I am new to all EV technology... I have my mind set on building a vehicle somewhere between an electric bicycle and an electric motorcycle. I have alot of questions about several topics so I figured I would just post them all and see how much information I can get.
My bike is still in the design phase but I have most of the parts that I was planning to use. The list is as follows:
Motor: Etek-R
Controller: Curtis 1204-411
Batteries: Yet to be determined, but planning on SLA batteries with 20AH or so...
Voltage: 48V
Frame: Madified Pit bike frame on fat Mountain bike tires
Transmission: Three gears, First has a ratio of 1:15, secong 1:10, third, 1:5 (ratio = rear wheel turns to motor turns)
Curb weight: Ballpark of 100 pounds, up to about 120 pounds

Project purpose:
Look enough like a bike so that I can ride to and on campus(I am a college student) and not get pulled over for riding a motorcycle on campus(hence the mountain bike tires).

If more info is needed please let me know and I will post it too.

My Questions are...

First, will the motor only pull the amperage it needs to carry the load, or will it use the amperage I put in it with the throttle?
Can I do a calculation to relate amps to acceleration, or do I just need to test and figure it out?
Second, how do I relate AH to range?
I know that the higher the AH the longer the range, but can I compute a range based on AH I have, or do I just have to test to find out? I absolutely have to have a range of about 5 miles so that I don't have to charge up in the middle of the day.