Verdict on Silicone Battery

13 posts / 0 new
Last post
nprawira
Verdict on Silicone Battery

I'm a newbie and wanted to know about the track record of the silicone battery used in the E-Max. Is it as reliable as it is claimed to be? Longer lifetime, faster charging and saver too?

PJD
PJD's picture
Re: Verdict on Silicone Battery

The "silicone" batteries are really just a over-hyped type of gel-cell. My experience with the packs on two e-maxs is that they are comparable to, at best, conventional sealed lead acid batteries.

antiscab

ditto,

if you want to stay with lead, look at UPS batteries designed to be depleted in 15mins.
they do better with the high discharge rate in EVs

Matt

Daily Ride:
2007 Vectrix, modified with 42 x Thundersky 60Ah in July 2010. Done 194'000km

nprawira

Did you ride the Emax scooter? I found out that there are 2 companies claiming to make silicone batteries, Greensaver Corp in Ningbo and Guineng in Guangzhou. It's hard not to be enticed by their claims of being superior to ordinary lead acid batteries while not as expensive as superior batteries like lithium-ion.

The UPS battery you mentioned, what type is it and can you recommend me some brands? Do they work like deep cycle lead acid batteries? How do you find them better?

Thanks y'all

antiscab

Did you ride the Emax scooter?

sure did, I owned two.
the first set of batteries reduced to around half of original capacity at 4'000km.
that scooter was crashed, so i bought a second one.

the battery in the second scooter failed after 1'500km due to overcharge.
more on that later.

I found out that there are 2 companies claiming to make silicone batteries, Greensaver Corp in Ningbo and Guineng in Guangzhou. It's hard not to be enticed by their claims of being superior to ordinary lead acid batteries while not as expensive as superior batteries like lithium-ion.