Problem with buying a Vectrix

5 posts / 0 new
Last post
just_looking
Problem with buying a Vectrix

I’ve been considering for some time now buying a vectrix, but there are a few things I have noticed about them and some of them are the way they sell them.

It comes across to me that these bikes are being sold in rather a haphazard way, there seems very little support and direction, very little after market services, and especially almost no service manuals at all.

If I buy a gasoline bike I can also in almost all cases get a servicing manual for a price, even if it is only available on disc.

It also appears that these bikes have major problems, such as replacement parts issues and reliability of parts.

Bikes breaking down after only a few hundred miles, batteries failing, controllers failing.

Now I’m no expert on these matters but if they were a gasoline bike the owners would be hopping mad going ballistic at the thought of spending around 7 thousand pounds to travel a few hundred miles and have to park the thing up while the manufacturers twiddle around deciding whether or not to honour the warranty.

Why are there no after market paten parts for this bike? No pattern parts to drive down costs.

Why does a throttle control console cost so much money to replace?

Why is it considered better to buy a new bike rather than fix the one you already have when the electonics fail?

Surely this defeats the object of trying to ride your bike in a way that is supposedly better for the environment?

For this reason alone I have been putting off buying a vectrix, I’m not a rich person, every penny I earn is valuable to me, if I buy a vectrix I want to know that it won’t break down on me for at least a good few thousand miles and then when it does I want to be able to open my servicing book and repair the problem myself at a reasonable price no matter what is wrong with it.