Mower conversion

3 posts / 0 new
Last post
Central Island Lawn
Mower conversion

Okay,
So I'm new to the EV thing and I'm looking for some basic information. I have an older Snapper Rear Engine Rider that I picked up for dirt cheap. The motor is just about expired so I'm looking at replacing it with something more powerful. I would like to have a single motor to power the drive and blade systems, so I would mount it in the same place as the ICE motor was. The motor would have a single on/off switch and I can use the existing clutch and "disk drive" transmission to change speeds. The motor needs to be regulated at a constant 3400 to 3800 RPM for the blade to cut properly.
Alternatively, I would use a dual motor system. The larger motor would replace the transmission and be mounted directly to the clutch/drive chain and I would have a speed and direction control for the drive motor. There is a single clutch/brake pedal which would be used as a engine-shutoff/brake pedal. I would have a smaller second motor to power the blade. The second motor would need to be regulated at 3400 to 3800 RPM as above with a single on/off switch. This would obviously mean more work but would give me more room for batteries as the motors would be out of the way. Either the single or dual motor system would have some sort of operator presence switch, like a grip on the handle or something.
From what I understand about batteries is that they loose voltage as you drain power from them, so a DC-DC converter is on the list of things to have, along with a charge meter and some sort of low voltage cut out so as to not damage the batteries.
My questions are:
1 - How much motor do I need to match a 12HP gas engine? Would golf cart motors work?
2 - How much voltage should I look for? Bear in mind that this machine will see some light commercial duty work.