Advice on gearing setup for Bionx PL350

5 posts / 0 new
Last post
kilcoleman
Advice on gearing setup for Bionx PL350

Hi, I'm new to this forum and I'm also new to the electric bike community. I want to build up a Surly long haul trucker touring bike with a Bionx PL350 system and am unsure about the correct gearing to use. I have a 14 mile commute and have some long steep hills. I recently read the following thread about a crankset setup on url=http://www.bikeforums.net and am looking for some further advice for my specific goal of using three chainrings and a 7 speed Shimano freewheel. url=http://www.bikeforums.net/archive/index.php/t-377250.html

The thread discusses a 52/42/26 crankset. I would like to use a similar crankset with a 13 - 15 - 17 - 19 - 21 - 24 - 28 7 speed freewheel on a Surly Long Haul Trucker frame. (The link to the frame specifications for the Surly are url=http://www.surlybikes.com/longhaul.html )

Here are some of my questions that I would be very glad of some advice on:
1) Can a Sugino XD300 or XD600 crankset be setup to use 52/42/26 chainrings? If not, can someone please recommend a brand/model suitable for the Surly frame?
2) What front and rear derailleurs would work for this setup?
3) What shifter should I use (mounted to a flat handlebar)? (would a downtube shifter be more appropriate?)

Thanks...

dogman
dogman's picture
Re: Advice on gearing setup for Bionx PL350

Doesn't Bionx stop assisting at 20 mph? If so, you may not have much use for 52 tooth front crank. On my bike, which goes 25 on the flats, and faster downhill, I found a 58 tooth front sprocket very usefull. But for speeds under 20 mph, I would think a 48 tooth front crank would be big enough, and maybe even a 44. You can always try it out with the stock crank, and look for what you find you need later.

Be the pack leader.
36 volt sla schwinn beach cruiser
36 volt lifepo4 mongoose mtb
24 volt sla + nicad EV Global

kilcoleman