Solar Ebike! First DIY Goals: <$1000, <100lbs, <8hr solar charge, 20Mi range, Carry 250lb me, lifepo4

24 posts / 0 new
Last post
ToyTank
Solar Ebike! First DIY Goals: <$1000, <100lbs, <8hr solar charge, 20Mi range, Carry 250lb me, lifepo4

Hello. This is my first project like this, hopefully it goes well. I'm from Montana, USA. Here's what I am planning on doing and please give any suggestions or feedback. I am all ears, and hoping to get help from the venerated here.

• Tres Terra Callisto bike minus battery $300 shipped
  • Ebay already bought
    Youtube review

• FoXXPower lifepo4 36V 10AH
  • Available on ebay. Talked to Zane on the phone, waiting for a quote from him.

Foxx 36V 10AH

• 30W HQRP Flexible solar panel
  • HQRP gets high marks everywhere I looked at them. I would like to get 2 of these, so I can get 36V without conversion. I think I will order one for now, I can alway get another later.
    http://hqrp.com/30-watt-monocrystalline-flexible-solar-power-panel-30w-12v-dc-for-battery-charging-by-hqrp.html">30W Solar Panel

Now I need help. I think I need a charge regulator The panel puts out 18V working voltage. Can anyone recommend a light, effecient charge controller tht works with 12V-18V to charge 36V string? If I hook these in series I should get 36V, and these do have a diode, could I just direct charge as long as I did not overcharge?

Anyone reccomend a different/better battery?

What else am I missing?

Thanks!

sangesf
    Re: Solar Ebike! First DIY Goals: <$1000, <100lbs, <8hr ...

Ok first...
    That battery doesn't come with a charger..
    Add $60+
    The solar panels won't work, because in order to charge the 36v batt you need 43.2v
    You also wouldn't have 5 hrs of DIRECT sunlight in winter.

20miles is only if you pedal most of the time.
    15ah would give ya 20 easily.
    Great deal on the bike tho.. Did yours come with that "tank"?

antiscab