Unknown issue with BUSVLT error

21 posts / 0 new
Last post
Cyde
Unknown issue with BUSVLT error

Hi all,

Long time rider and occassional reader/post, and right now I have an issue.

State of my Bike:

Model 2007 (red)
Batteries : Antiscab upgrade kit 6/2011
KM's 37970.9
Firmware : original

My current daily commute is ~46Km (round trip) + 6km (after work occasionally to the shops). I usually still have 3-4 bars left on the display after this. I have been doing this for over 6 months now. (prior to that my commute was 25km).

Previous known issues: the cable plug/connections string the BMS modules together have some times (a) unplugged or (b) through movement(stop/start) have broken from the solder joint. I simpled opened and replugged/resoldered (for safety I disconnected anderson connectors before solder/reconnecting BMS cables then attach light/reconnected anderson's).

Current issue:

I was on my way home and just turned onto Ballarat Rd getting up to 70km/r (its speed limit in that zone), when all of a sudden I had no response from throttle. I pulled over and turned off/on. Red Battery light (solid), and BUSVLT error. However the battery meter still shows 10 bars.

(I got a tow home).

Subsequent tests/diag:

turn on the bike with the stand down, no error (but Red battery light on). Once kick stand is up, and "Go" mode enaged, BUSVLT error occurs.
I have not plugged the bike into charge (unsure what that might do).

Thinking it might be a bolt that worked loose, I have opened it up, but cant see/feel/test any bolts loose. (I have only checked the top visible row, its a bugger to get the lower 2nd half).

I have not pulled out my CANBus cable or the diag software yet (I have both), but plan to do this, this week after work (depending on how tired I am) or on the weekend.

Any idea's of where I should look in the diag software, or hard issues I shall look at?