Aussie Autocross EV

11 posts / 0 new
Last post
galderdi
Aussie Autocross EV

Hi, I have been stalking the forum for some time and I can now give you a summary of my background and plunge into the EV world.

I am located in Brisbane, Queensland, Australia. I have been playing around in grass roots motorsport for about 12 years. Generally I compete in Autocross, Khanacross, Motorkhana, Hill Climbs and sprints. With the exception of the sprints all these sports are a time trial involving a standing start. I saw a Fiat Turbo Diesel doing quite well so I figured if torque is an advantage then electric motors are the way to go.

I toyed with the idea for a while before makign the decision to proceed in March 2015. I decided on front wheel drive as front wheel drive statistically has an advantage over rear wheel drive in my sports and all wheel drive is against our rules. I found an Advanced DC FB1-4001, built a chasis from the ground up and used a lot of running gear from a old Nissan Pulsar. By November 2015 I had a working prototype using lead acid batteries and a Curtis controller.

2016 was a bit of a development year while I sorted out all the teething issues. The first event was Feb 2016 (11 months after commencing the build). Over the following months I soon found the batteries and the controller were not up to the task. But even then I was placing in the top 25% of the all ICE field. I also experienced brake failures, suspension failures etc etc as expected with a first attempt at a home made chassis. Mid 2016 I converted to a Lithium Ion pack from a Chevy Volt and a 1000amp Zeva controller and it has transformed the car.