Add extra batteries for distance?

4 posts / 0 new
Last post
AlexNC
AlexNC's picture
Add extra batteries for distance?

Small intro :

I am new to electrical vehicles, but with the United States current conditions with gas (dependency to foreign oil and environmental), I have finally had enough and feel like I need to do my part. My ultimate goal is to buy an electric scooter/motorcycle in the next few months to year, and eventually have a solar net-metering/charging station. Right now I am very encouraged by the X-treme's XM-3500Li, but it will really comes down to real world user reviews. I am also continuing to watch the Vetrix in hopes that its upcoming lithium batteries do not adjust the current pricing too much. Other contenders are Electric Motorsport's GPR-S and EVC's Volta. More than likely I will go with the XM-3500Li or GPR-S due to the ability to possibly upgrade and maintain my own batteries. The closed, non-standard battery systems of the other bikes seem to lend themselves to more expensive maintenance.

With that said, I have a pretty basic question for the electric veterans here. Assuming I go with a bike that is easily 'gutted', [u]would I be able to add extra batteries to extend my driving distance?[/u] For example, from what I understand, the XM-3500Li is coming with a 20 pack battery system. What is stopping me from spending some extra money and adding 4 more battery packs to extend my driving distance? Of course, this is assuming I can find room to put them.

Do the batteries charge in series, or do they all charge separately for peak performance/longevity? I am assuming charging in series means the following ... the first battery charges to full capacity, then the next one starts to charge. It fills up, then the next one starts charging, etc.). Any further explanations on charging systems, types, pros/cons would be appreciated.