phoenix brute safety

7 posts / 0 new
Last post
ejonesss
phoenix brute safety

i have heard from a crystalyte dealer that the phoenix brute is not safe to use on any bike it has caused frames to fail even though they are steel

here is the email i got from a local crystalyte dealer

That is a very dangerous motor and does not belong on a bike frame or on the market.
Do you realize that this motor weighs over 25lbs!!
No bike commercial bike fork can support this motor and you risk serious injury or death using it.
On top of this, electric rider/Dave Durker is the most dis-honest dealer in our business.
I get many of his customers after he screws them over.
He has also done this to many dealers in this business.
Do yourself a favor and stay away from the Phoenix motors and this guy that is selling them.

has anyone had any issues with frames failing or being ripped off and such?

dogman
dogman's picture
Re: phoenix brute safety

Though I have no experience with that motor, I tend to agree that most of the purchasers really want motorcycle performance, which is a lot to ask of even the best bikes. Used sanely on the street, they probobally break frames a lot less than when ridden on trails. That much power in the bumpy dirt trails might be better put through the chain from a frame mounted motor. At least, they shouldn't be sold as a front hub at that size.

Be the pack leader.
36 volt sla schwinn beach cruiser
36 volt lifepo4 mongoose mtb
24 volt sla + nicad EV Global

decibel1