Questions on XB-700Li

17 posts / 0 new
Last post
takabanana
Questions on XB-700Li

I'm new here, but see a lot of interesting and useful discussion on the XB-700Li.

I'm new to the EV, let alone "assisted" bikes - and am considering this model - for the fact that it's cheap, and I won't require any annual registration/insurance costs - and maintenance costs should be significantly lower than other alternatives.

So before I "plunge" and purchase one of them, I have a few questions.

1. I assume, downhill, these things work like a bicycle: they don't use any power, and goes downhill faster like a normal bike. In other words, at a downhill path, it will not count (much) against the "maximum distance" spec, and it will also probably go faster than 20MPH (if the downhill is long enough)?

2. These things "only" go 20MPH - so is a regular bike helmet enough protection? It would seem so. At least in my state (GA), only a Bicycle helmet is required for one of these. What do you guys wear with your XB-600/700 for protection? I will prob get a full helmet with shield in the front - to avoid getting cold in the winter and it's kinda hard to breathe looking straight and going 20MPH.

3. On a similar note to #2, I assume getting one of those "biker jackets" with padding is unnecessary at this speed. Maybe a kneepad and/or elbowpad? Again, what do you guys wear with your XB-600/700 for protection?

4. Is the XB-700Li 100% waterproof/rainproof? i.e. if it starts raining, will it be OK to be riding in it (trying to get home fast)?

5. Are there mods/hacks to allow these to go 25-30MPH as the top speed? What is required to do that?

6. Have any of you heard of, or purchased from, iVoog.com? They seem to have the best deal:
http://www.ivoog.com/bikes/xb700li/

Thanks for any help/pointers/suggestions. I'm very seriously considering purchasing the XB-700Li... very very soon.

-Taka

ttunes
Re: Questions on XB-700Li

Hi - regarding question 1 --- this is my experience.