DEAD Vectrix, what is FIrst steps

76 posts / 0 new
Last post
Jim Lowder
DEAD Vectrix, what is FIrst steps

So I'm a rookie and I know it. But I would like to ask you all if you were given a completely dead Vectrix, what would be your first steps. My neighbor passed away and his wife gave me his Vectrix that has sat UNTOUCHED for 2 years.

So what would you do first,second,third, other that RUN LIKE HECK or GIVE it Back?
I thank you for your help and advice.

Kocho
Re: DEAD Vectrix, what is FIrst steps

The first thing you already did - found this web community :)

The second step is to carefully attempt to charge the battery to above about 90V, using an external charger. Once you do that, if you are successful, you will try to charge it further using the built-in charger. If that works, you check mechanicals and if all is good, take it for a ride. If the built-in charger does not work, we'll help you do something about it...

This thread here takes you through a process similar to what you will need to follow, and has instructions on boosting the battery to a level where the internal charger will work:

http://visforvoltage.org/forum/14055-multiple-vectrix

Forgot to mention: after you fix it to a running condition, then you will decide if you like it enough to upgrade to something like a Nissan Leaf battery (the upgrade has been done many times already and is the easiest thing to do that can make your Vectrix a viable commuting option with a real world range of 40 miles all-highway riding to 120+ miles in easy riding at low speeds. Regardless of the Leaf upgrade, there are a few small things that pretty much every Vectrix owner needs to fix, such as the falling-off bolt on the kick stand, water ingress through some small holes in the firewall, maybe deal with faulty temperature sensors, upgrade your cargo box hardware if you use one (the original tends to break apart), etc.

Jim Lowder

Thank you. I have been on this site looking for rookie steps for 4 days now.