Drill motors?

6 posts / 0 new
Last post
huntercook
Drill motors?

Howdy.

Sorry if this is really dumb; I'm a noob. Short version: would the motor from a cordless drill be suitable for an ebike?

Specifically, I'm looking at the DeWalt DC900 36v drill, which is allegedly rated for 750W and is going (w/o battery) for about $70-80 on ebay. That strikes me as a lot of power for not much money. The speed controller is in the battery, not the drill, so that's a bit weird, but since I figure I'd be using those packs (DC9360) anyway, it doesn't seem like a big deal. In fact, to my rather uninformed eyes this looks like a really easy way to build an ebike. Buy a drill, battery, and charger, cut the drill up into 3 pieces (battery mount, handle/trigger, and motor), mount the pieces and wire them together, get a rear wheel with an extra freewheel on the side across from the gears, put a sprocket on the drill and chain it up, and you've got a 1hp 36v ebike.

This seems too easy and too cheap for people not to be doing it all over the place, especially when 36v ebike kits are running $400 and up. So, what am I missing?

The next question is whether one could wire multiple batteries up to this thing. I'd be interested in parallel-only options (just for range, although I'm not totally unwilling to swap packs as they die), but even more interested in going up to 72v if you guys think the motor can handle it. Also, if anyone's interested, please head over to the controller forum where I'm asking about using the DC9360 packs as motor controllers, not necessarily in conjunction with the drill motor.

Thanks

Hunter.

p.s. Does it strike anybody else as really strange that the drill kits (drill, charger, and battery) go for $450 on ebay while you can get the three components separately for less than half that?

IbeRKT
Re: Drill motors?